Hagley String Orchestra


My goodness, doesn’t time fly, particularly when we are all enjoying ourselves playing such a wide range of music

- ‘Tempus fugit’!

After 13 rehearsals this term, we finish on Tuesday 5 December when we indulge in a longer coffee break with seasonal mince-pies. Both our soloists for this term will be with us. Flautist Anne Wilson will be playing the delightful Quantz Flute Concerto in G, and pianist Tony Bridgewater inspiring us with Gerald Finzi’s emotional Eclogue. In addition, most of us are tackling the tricky solo parts in the little known sextet arrangement of Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante – a really worthwhile challenge with such wonderful music. We’ll be busy, as we’ve also got pieces by Henry Purcell and Gordon Jacob to get through.

Do please consider joining us for the forthcoming spring term which starts on Tuesday 9 January 2018, 10.00 am – 12.00 Noon in Hagley Free Church Hall (we’ll be playing a Cassation by Haydn). For more information, contact Haydn (no relation) Thomas on 885252 or email us.

Jeremy Patterson

Haydn Thomas
Email Hagley String Orchestra← Click to email Hagley String Orchestra

Last update: Sunday 26 November 2017

If you are Haydn why not edit this page?

Edit Your Page